Happy Friday Everyone!

Freedom on the weekends has been a bit scarce lately but I finally took a day for myself.  I had a houseful of guests and we decided to take advantage of the gorgeous weather and wander through the Manassas Battlefield.  I have spent quite a bit of time there photographing clients but haven’t taken the time to learn the history.  I am ashamed to say that even though I grew up in a Civil War battle town, my British husband knows more about it than I do.  I always loved history but am completely useless at retaining information.  One of our guests is a total Civil War buff so we even had our own personal tour guide.  While I would like to say I came away from our day historically enriched, as soon I got there my camera came out and that was that, too much to capture.  I have been to the Battlefield to photograph throughout the year and have seen the landscape change over the seasons.  Fall is by far my favourite.  I have been recommending this spot for all my upcoming family portraits and for good reason.  It is just plain gorgeous. I am blown away by the natural colours in the surroundings.  I was feeling like I should be in a flowy dress dancing through the fields of grass.  Fortunately for the group, I stuck to muddy boots and just took pictures instead.     At least now I can say I know how Stonewall Jackson got his nickname.  Hope you all get out and do something enjoyable this weekend!

Leave a Reply

